THE HISTORY OF GLYNALLYN, THE CASTLE
Built and completed by 1917, in time to hold his daughter’s wedding at the castle, publisher, entrepreneur and world traveler, George Marshall Allen designed the Tudor style mansion with the help of prominent New York architect Charles I. Berg. Glynallyn The Castle was inspired by Compton Wynyates, a 16th-century castle in Warwickshire, England and today, is on the National Register of Historic Places. The castle’s name comes from a glen behind the property that Allen was inspired to name his home after.
Inside the castle walls, the Great Hall and Library boast sections of 400-year-old Oak paneling taken from Compton Wynyates, while other parts of the interior consist of reclaimed wood from old English mansions, castles, cathedrals and shipyards from all over the world. From 1952 until the 1990s the well-known map making firm General Drafting Company occupied Glynallyn.
Today, Glynallyn is a private residence, having been restored and brought back to life to reflect the Tudor style castle it once was, with homage to keeping its original 100-year-old charm and characteristics. Glynallyn is made up of 575 antique stained-glass and old leaded muntined windows, more than 60 rooms, 18 chimneys and has multiple secret doors and hidden passageways. The impressive updated state-of-the art kitchen still boasts old-world charm while being equipped with a custom high-performance cooking suite with ten-burner range, imported from Florence, Italy and made of heavy gauge steel and burnished brass details.
The rear of the castle opens up to a beautiful back terrace overlooking the glen, vibrant gardens and a serene pool where a moat once stood. The terrace is equipped with everything one needs to entertain the night away, including an outdoor kitchen and bar, complete with wood-burning pizza oven and a cozy firepit lounge.
The medieval furnishings and décor that fill the revival mansion come from all over the world as well as local antique shops, while Gargoyles, Tudor roses, Celtic knots, French-imported fountains and coats of arms are also featured throughout the property.